Slutty Brownies

I’ve been starting my tomato and pepper plants from seed and haven’t had much time to devote to baking involved recipes, so I was looking for a quick and easy recipe.  I’d found this recipe on the What’s Gaby Cooking blog (originally from the Londoner) and set it aside but it was a perfect time to try it.  I also found these brownies noted on a lot of other sites and I know why…  I brought a bunch of them to the office for my co-workers and they were gone by mid-morning.  I think the name intrigued them from the start.

I made the recipe a couple of times since the first time I baked it for too long because I kept testing it with a toothpick and it only came out clean after 65 minutes of baking (although my husband loved this crispier version).

Totally yummy.  Try it.

Slutty Brownies

Yield:  16 bars                Cook Time:  40 minutes

Ingredients

Cookie Dough:

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 cups mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

Oreos:

  • 16 Double Stuff Oreo cookies

Brownie:

  • 1 package of your favorite brownie mix (my favorite is Ghirardelli – any flavor will do), prepared as directed

Directions:

Step 1:  Prepare the brownie mix as described on the package and set aside.

Step 2:  For the cookie dough, cream together the butter and sugars with a mixer.  Beat in the eggs and vanilla until entirely incorporated.  Add the remaining dry ingredients except chips and mix on low until incorporated.  Fold in the chocolate chips.

Step 3:  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Step 4:  Line an 8” by 8” baking pan with aluminum foil and spray with cooking spray.

Step 5:  Press half the cookie dough evenly across the bottom of the pan (next time I will try using the entire cookie dough recipe in the bottom of the pan).

Step 6:  Add a layer of Double Stuff Oreo cookies four across by four rows.

Step 7:  Top evenly with brownie mixture.

Step 9:  Bake for 40 minutes on the top rack of the oven.  Let cool at least 10 minutes before attempting to remove the brownies from the pan.  If serving warm, the center brownies will be very gooey, almost like the middle of a lava cake.  The ends will be firmer.  Cut into sixteen pieces.

Enjoy!!!

Recipe adapted from What’s Gaby Cooking (originally from the Londoner).

I'd love for you to leave a comment. I enjoy reading them all.

