My Favorite Guacamole

Especially during the summer I love having Guacamole.  A few years ago I got a recipe from my co-worker that I adapted to my tastes.  It’s quick and easy to make and everyone loves it.  I also use it as a dipping sauce for steak, pork, ribs, chicken and just about anything you can think of.  Just think how good it would be instead of mayo on a sandwich.  My husband just had some on an tomato guacamole salad sandwich.  You can’t name all the things this works with.

In a couple of weeks I’m having my family and my in-laws over for dinner (well it’s on a Sunday and it starts around noon and lasts most of the day) and this recipe is a regular on the menu for my get-togethers.  Normally there’s no leftovers.

The only problem I have I have with Avocados is that I have a hard time choosing ripe ones that aren’t overripe or starting to turn rotten.  If anyone has any tips, I’d love to hear them.

Enjoy.

Ready to start the mashing.

After grating the onion.

All mixed up and ready to eat.

Guacamole

Ingredients

  • 3 Avocados, ripe
  • 1/2 small onion or Vidalia onion to taste, grated
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice or the juice from 1/2 lime or more to taste
  • 1/2 – 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt or more to taste

Directions:

Step 1:  Using a sharp knife, cut the Avocados in half by starting at the top (the narrow end) and cutting down to the bottom (the wider end) on one side and up to the top on the other side.  Do not cut through the pit in the center.

Step 2:  Using a spoon scoop out the Avocados and place in a medium bowl.  Discard the skin and pit.  Grate the onion into the bowl and mix into Avocado.  Add juices and salt and mix thoroughly.

Step 3:  To store the Guacamole, cover with plastic wrap and ensure that the plastic wrap is placed directly on the mixture and that there are no or few air gaps; then chill in the refrigerator.  Fresh Guacamole doesn’t keep well, so it should be made only about an hour before it is served.

Enjoy!!!

Recipe adapted from my co-worker.

One thought on “My Favorite Guacamole

I'd love for you to leave a comment. I enjoy reading them all.

