Brown Sugar Caramels

Brown Sugar Caramel by Bakewell Junction

Brown Sugar Caramel by Bakewell Junction

My hubby has been trying to watch what he eats, so I decided it was time to make something he doesn’t like.  I had seen the Brown Sugar Caramels recipe in a guest post Liz from That Skinny Chick Can Bake wrote for Lora from Cake Duchess on December 10th and since my hubby doesn’t like caramels, I made the recipe thinking it would prevent him from being tempted.  He hasn’t been tempted all that much but he did taste them and he really liked them.

While my caramels tasted delicious, they didn’t look as good a Liz’s.  They turned out a little soft too.  This could be because of a few factors.  I didn’t have half and half, so I substituted half with heavy whipping cream and half with whole milk – isn’t that what half and half is?  The 3 quart sauce pan I started cooking in was too small and the mixture was about to boil over, so I had to switch to a 4 quart stock pot when I got to about 225 degrees.  I would recommend making this recipe in a pot that is at least 3.5 quarts.  I also didn’t have non-stick aluminum foil, so I lined the 8 by 8 inch pan with regular foil and sprayed with cooking spray.  Liz’s tips were very helpful and the caramels turned out wonderfully since I’d never made them before.  I’ll enjoy making these again.  You can find the Brown Sugar Caramels recipe on Lora’s site.

Enjoy!!!

This post may also be entered in the following linky party.  Click the buttons below to see the other great posts in the blog hop.

Foodie Friends Friday
9 thoughts on “Brown Sugar Caramels

    • Lizzy,
      Your recipe is loved by all. I like to make what I call wow recipes and yours certainly fits. Everyone that’s tried them says mmmmmm after the first bite before they can actually say anything.

I'd love for you to leave a comment. I enjoy reading them all.

