Double Stuff Oreo Ice Cream Cake

I’m still posting recipes from my last family gathering because I’d made so many recipes that I want to blog about that day.  I know my niece usually likes to have a Carvel ice cream cake for her birthday and I wanted to make the Biscoff Toffee Ice Cream Cake from Two Peas and Their Pod but I found out that my niece wasn’t thrilled with cinnamon and toffee, so I had to improvise.  I figured that everyone loves Oreo infused desserts and I made the substitution.  I also had the foresight to make two cakes because I had fifteen guests and I knew some would want seconds.

In this recipe I used Double Stuff Oreos.  Now I don’t know exactly when this occurred (I may be dating myself with this comment) but it seems to me that Double Stuff Oreo centers now have about the same amount creme as what used to be in regular Oreos.  Am I the only one that sees this?  And when did the half gallon ice cream containers go to 1.5 quarts?  Last I remember they had gone down to about 1.75 quarts.

Well this cake was such a hit that my sister-in-law commented that the cake was the highlight of her summer vacation.  I must say I was quite flattered but with the number of Oreos I used, this recipe couldn’t go wrong.  I believe this cake would be great for any occasion and especially for anyone who loves Oreo infused desserts.  It’s also quick and easy to prepare.

Enjoy.

Double Stuff Oreo Ice Cream Cake

Yield:  8 – 10 servings                Cook Time:  8 – 10 minutes

Ingredients

Crust:

  • 18 – 20 (1 2/3 – 2 cups) Double Stuffed Oreos, finely crushed – filling included
  • 1 tablespoon granulated sugar, optional (I skipped this since the Double Stuff Oreo centers add enough sweetness)
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

Cake:

  • 1.5 quarts vanilla ice cream, softened (I used Breyers French Vanilla)
  • 9 – 10 Double Stuff Oreos, roughly crushed in a ziploc bag – filling included

Topping:

  • 9 – 10 Double Stuff Oreos, roughly crushed into four or five pieces in a ziploc bag – filling included

Directions:

Step 1:  For the crust:  The Oreos are best crushed in a food processor.  If you don’t have one, you can substitute a blender or, as I did, a mini chopper that was included with my stick blender.  Combine the Oreos, butter and sugar (if using) into a medium to large size bowl.  Using a 10 inch springform pan, press the mixture into the bottom of the pan and as far up the sides as possible.  The mixture will only go about 1/2 to 1 inch up the sides of the pan.  Place the pan in a preheated 350 degree oven for 8 – 10 minutes.  The crust is done when it’s set and firm.

Step 2:  For the cake:  After the crust cools completely, soften the ice cream (I placed the container in the microwave for 30 seconds – it was a really hot day, so this was enough), combine it and the Oreos in a large bowl.  Add the mixture to the pan and smooth the top evenly throughout.  Place the remaining Oreos evenly over the top.  Line the bottom of the pan with aluminum foil to prevent leaks.  Place the pan in the freezer until refrozen.  This is best left overnight.

Step 3:  To serve, remove pan from the freezer.  Run a butter knife under hot water and run it around the perimeter of the cake to loosen it.  Remove the pan sides.  I served the cake directly from the springform pan bottom.  Use a sharp knife run under hot water to cut the cake.

Note:  This cake can be made a few days in advance.  My husband said it tasted better a few days after the party.  As you can see, I only got one picture of the very last piece before it was eaten.  Also, you can use a slightly different size pan.  I don’t have two 10 inch springform pans, so the second cake went into a 9 inch pan.

Enjoy!!!

Cake recipe adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod.

5 thoughts on “Double Stuff Oreo Ice Cream Cake

  1. Double Stuffed Oreos are a staple in our household…my hubby has passed on his addiction to our 3 children. They would ALL love this dessert…beautifully done!

    PS…your husband’s homemade mozzarellla sounds a heck of a lot like burrata 🙂 YUM!

I'd love for you to leave a comment. I enjoy reading them all.

