Macarongigli (Little Macaroni)

Macarongigli (Little Macaroni) | Bakewell Junction

Macarongigli (Little Macaroni) | Bakewell Junction

Macarongigli is a dish we ate every Saturday when I was a kid.  I don’t know if it was something that was specific to the town my family came from in Italy or something my Grandmother created but we loved it.  My Dad loved it too.  I’m sure of the spelling either, so I did the best I could with it.

I use Pennsylvania Dutch noodles for this recipe and my Mom and Grandmother used the same.  It’s a quick and easy side dish.  You can pair it with just about any main entrée.  The bonus is that the hubby loves it too.  I think you’ll enjoy Macarongigli as much as my family does.

 Macarongigli (Little Macaroni) 2 | Bakewell Junction

Macarongigli

Yield:  6 servings                  Cook Time:  3 to 4 minutes 

Ingredients:

  • 6 cups water
  • 2 teaspoons salt (if not adding grated cheese, you can add another teaspoon of salt)
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil or a drizzle
  • 1 12 ounce package of fine egg noodles
  • grated cheese (I use pecorino romano), to taste
  • butter (optional)

Directions:

Step 1:  Heat water, salt and oil to boiling in a medium stock pot.  Add the noodles and stir with a wooden spoon.  Let water come to a boil again while stirring occasionally.  Let noodles cook for 3 minutes.

Step 2:  Crack an egg into the noodle mixture and immediately break the yolk and stir well to disperse the egg throughout.  Repeat with the second egg.  When you see the white flecks of egg throughout the noodles (about another minute), it’s done.  Remove from heat and serve while hot in small bowls topped with grated cheese.  If using, add a pat of butter per individual serving and stir in (hubby likes this; my family doesn’t add the butter).

Enjoy!!!

This post may also be entered in these linky parties.  Click the here to visit the other great posts in the blog hops.

Made with Love Mondays, hosted by Javelin Warrior
45 thoughts on “Macarongigli (Little Macaroni)

  1. Thank you for linking up at Tasty Tuesdays! Your post has been pinned to my Recipes from Tasty Tuesday board. I can’t wait to see what you link up next week!
    Have a terrific weekend!
    Cathy
    APeekIntoMyParadise.com
    #TastyTuesdays

  2. We eat something similar. It’s just elbows, olive oil or butter and parmesan cheese. I’m going to give the fine egg noodles a try.

  3. this is totally the pasta that my mom, who comes from Italy, used to give us as kids. Thanks for sharing this at The Wednesday Roundup. I’m going to be sharing it on my facebook page today.

  4. A simple and comforting dish. I like the ease and the idea of this for Sunday dinner. Sundays always seem to be so busy with prep for the week to come.
    Thank you for linking!

  5. That looks lovely. Thanks for sharing on Sweet and Savoury Sundays, stop by and share with us again this weekend!

  6. That looks so good! I’ll have to try it as we like all things pasta. Thanks for linking up with the Tasty Tuesday’s Link-up. I have pinned your post to the Tasty’s Tuesday’s Pinterest Board!

  7. This recipe reminds me of a dish the German community made that I lived near in Texas. They were so good. They didn’t put cheese on them. I bet it’s even better with cheese. Thanks for sharing at Saturday Dishes.

I'd love for you to leave a comment. I enjoy reading them all.

