Malted Chocolate Chip Whopper Blondies

Malted Chocolate Chip Whopper Blondies | Bakewell Junction

Malted Chocolate Chip Whopper Blondies | Bakewell Junction

I had seen this recipe a while ago and had been looking for a reason to try it.  Well, I didn’t have a good reason so I made it just because.  I wanted to change the recipe into bars instead of cookies.  I wasn’t thrilled with the results at room temperature but refrigerating them made all the difference.  They are great right out of the fridge – still tender and soft.

Enjoy!

Malted Chocolate Chip Whopper Blondies | Bakewell JunctionMalted Chocolate Chip Whopper Blondies

Yield:  16 squares                 Cook Time:  25 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups of flour
  • 1/2 cup malted milk powder
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips (I used Ghirardelli mini chocolate chips)
  • 1 cup chopped plus 16 whole Whoppers candy (about 5 ounces)

Step 1:  Line an 8 by 8 inch pan with aluminum foil so some of overhangs the sides and spray it with cooking spray.  Set aside.

Step 2:  Combine the first five ingredients in a large bowl.  In another large bowl, beat butter, brown sugar and sugar on high for at least three minutes.  Scrape down sides of the bowl as needed.  Beat in the egg and vanilla.  Mix in the flour mixture by hand.  Mix in the chocolate chips and chopped Whoppers.

Step 3:  Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 25 – 35 minutes.  Upon removing from the oven and while still warm, lightly press the whole Whoppers one by one in a 4 by 4 pattern in the approximate center of each bar.  Let cool 30 to 45 minutes in the pan.  Using the aluminum foil to remove from pan and cool completely on a rack.  Slice into 4 rows by 4 row squares.  These sliced really cleanly after completely cool.  Refrigerate and serve cold.

Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod.

Tips:  Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

This post may also be entered in these linky parties.  Click the here to visit the other great posts in the blog hops.
21 thoughts on “Malted Chocolate Chip Whopper Blondies

  1. Blondies is one sweets recipe that I have never attempted to make. Lately though I have been seeing more variations of this recipe showing up. This is the first time I have seen it made including whoppers as an ingredient and they look delicious! Looks like I may soon have to give in and give it a go!
    Found your site over at Hump Day Happenings. Thank you for sharing!

  2. Oh, you have my number with this one. I LOVE Whoppers! I would leave out the chips just to add more Whoppers, lol. Thank you for linking up at Wonderful Wed Blog Hop. Carrie, A Mother’s Shadow

  3. We don’t have Whoppers in England but we have something very similar called a Malteser…I’m definitely going to be making these yummy blondies. What a mouthwatering recipe, Annamaria! Thank you for sharing it with us at the Hearth and Soul Hop. Will be pinning and sharing 🙂

  4. Mmmm, those look really good. Great tip about refrigerating them first. Thank you for linking at the In and Out of the Kitchen Link Party. Hope to see you again next week.

  5. Oh yummy. I love Whoppers, these sound like they will be delicious. Though I am not sure where to find Malted Milk Powder.
    Thanks for stopping by and sharing at Kids and a Mom in the Kitchen. I am pinning this recipe for later.

  6. Yum! I love Whoppers…they are one of my favorite candies! I bet they are amazing in these blondies!! Thanks for linking them up with us at #FoodieFridays…I’m excited to try them!

  7. Whoppers are one of my husband’s favorite candies, and I’m sure he’d be thrilled if I made him some of these blondies. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and sharing this recipe with us – you’re featured this week on Five Friday Finds! I’m looking forward to what you share this week. 🙂

  8. This recipe brings back so many childhood memories or devouring Whoppers! Your blondies must be amazing with them included, Annamaria!
    xo
    Roz

I'd love for you to leave a comment. I enjoy reading them all.

