New York Cheesecake

NY Cheesecake | Bakewell Junction

NY Cheesecake | Bakewell Junction

Happy Mother’s Day!  My hubby and puppy haven’t been feeling well plus most evenings I’ve been waging the annual losing battle with the dandelions, so haven’t posted in a few weeks.  I’m glad be back and I baked a couple of yummy sweets for today.

My Sister-in-law has made a delicious cheesecake with a chocolate graham cracker crust on many occasions and she was kind enough to give me the recipe several years ago.  I’ve made this cheesecake many times with delicious results each time.  This is a creamy and delicious treat that I’m sharing with you today.  The crust reminds me of the Carvel crunchies in their cakes.

I also made Lizzy’s Moomie’s Cinnamon Buns.  Lizzy’s blog is That Skinny Chick Can Bake and she has so many lovely recipes that I don’t know that I’ll ever be able to make all those I’d like to make but be sure to take a look at this recipe, it’s a hit.  Here’s my first attempt with this recipe and both my Nieces loved them.

Moomies Cinnamon Rolls | Bakewell Junction

Moomies Cinnamon Rolls | Bakewell Junction

Enjoy!

New York Cheesecake

Yield:  12 servings                  Cook Time:  60 minutes

Crust:

  • 16 to 18 chocolate graham cracker squares (about 1 1/2 cups finely ground)
  • 5 tablespoons butter, melted

Filling:

  • 3 8 ounce tubs of whipped cream cheese, room temperature
  • 8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 16 ounces sour cream, room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons corn starch
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 3 eggs, room temperature

Directions:

Step 1:  For the crust:  If your spring form pan leaks, line the outside with aluminum foil (it may be better to do this regardless).  Finely crush the graham crackers.  I generally do this by hand while the crackers are still in the plastic package but you can put them in a mini chopper or food processor.  Place the crackers and the 5 tablespoons of melted butter in a medium bowl.  Mix thoroughly.  Lightly spray the pan with cooking spray.  Transfer the mixture to a 10 inch spring form pan.  Distribute the mixture evenly across the pan.  Press the mixture onto the bottom of the pan and at least 1/4 to 1/2 inch up the sides of the pan.  Set the prepared pan aside.

Step 2:  For the filling:  Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  In the bowl of a stand mixer, mix together the whipped cream cheese, butter, sour cream, cornstarch, vanilla, lemon juice and sugar until well blended.  Scrape down sides as needed.  Add eggs one at a time.  Mix each addition until completely combined before adding the next.  Scrape down sides as needed.

Step 3:  Transfer the filling into the pan and spread evenly across the pan.  Fill a roasting pan (that is larger than the spring form pan) 1/3 of the way with hot water.  Place the filled spring form pan in the center of the roasting pan.  Be sure that the water is about half way up the sides of the spring form pan.

Step 4:  Bake at 375 degrees for 60 minutes.  After the cheesecake is finished baking, I usually let it cool completely with the oven door open.  I believe this helps resist cracking.

Storing:  Store in the refrigerator covered with plastic wrap.

Tips:  Drizzle with Hershey’s syrup after plating.

Enjoy!!!

Recipe from my Sister-in-law and I believe originally adapted from Philadelphia Cream Cheese.

This post may also be entered in the following linky party. Click the button below to see the other great posts in the blog hop.

BWS tips buttonSweet 2 Eat Baking

Photobucket

buttercream Bakehouse

13 thoughts on “New York Cheesecake

  1. Pingback: Sugar & Slice Sunday Link Party #28

I'd love for you to leave a comment. I enjoy reading them all.