NY Times Chocolate Chip Cookie with Ice Cream and Chocolate Syrup

NY Times Chocolate Chip Cookie | Bakewell Junction

NY Times Chocolate Chip Cookie | Bakewell Junction

Memorial Day means different things to different people.  It is a day honor those who gave their lives so we as a country could be free.  It also signifies the beginning of the summer season.  This year it’s also a time for my husband and I to keep our doggie quiet since she’s recovering from her ACL surgery last Monday.  As she gets better she wants to run, jump and spin in circles like she normally would.  This is very bad for her recovery, so we watch and wait.

The summer season means lots of barbaques, grilling and campfires.  I originally intended to post a homemade marshmallow recipe which would have been great for roasting or s’mores but the marshmallows were a flop.  It was my first time making marshmallows and the recipe included unflavored gelatin which I couldn’t find in my local supermarket (go figure).  I found some in the natural foods store but it may not have been the same thing and probably didn’t work the same way.

Instead I turned to a recipe that I’d seen recently on Sugarcrafter.  Tracy isn’t the only one that hadn’t tried the NY Times Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe – I hadn’t either.  It seemed like a relatively easy recipe with a great result and so I made them.

Unfortunately this weekend I was having no luck whatsoever, I made an error with the cookies.  I inadvertently added an extra half stick of butter to the recipe.  In addition, I don’t have a kitchen scale – except for my Grandmother’s really old one that isn’t precise enough – so I divided the dough into 20 equal portions instead of 3.15 ounce balls.  In the end the cookies turned okay.  They spread a bit more than they should because of the extra butter and were crispier too but my husband really liked them anyway.  To dress them up a bit, I added vanilla ice cream and chocolate syrup.

What did you do for Memorial Day – family barbaque, camping or something else?

Enjoy!

NY Times Chocolate Chip Cookies

Yield:  20 cookies                  Cook Time:  18 – 20 minutes

Dough:

  • Substitute 3 sticks of unsalted butter for the 2 1/2 sticks to the recipe here.

Ice Cream:

  • 1 1/2 quarts of your favorite French Vanilla Ice Cream (I prefer Breyers)

Topping:

  • Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup for drizzle.

Directions:

Step 1:  For the dough:  Follow the directions found here with the higher butter substitution.

Step 2:  To serve:  Optionally warm the cookie in a microwave save dish for 10 to 15 seconds, top with a large scoop of ice cream and drizzle with Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup.

Storing:  Store cookies in a sealed plastic container for a few days.

Enjoy!!!

Recipe from Tracy of SugarCrafter.

This post may also be entered in the following linky party.  Click the button below to see the other great posts in the blog hop.

BWS tips buttonSweet 2 Eat Baking

Feeding Big and more

Staying Close to Home

Wonderful Food Wednesday

buttercream Bakehouse
Recipes and Ramblins with the Tumbleweed Contessa

Photobucket

Daily Dish Magazine
The Best Blog Recipes

Let's Get Social Sunday

 

Totally Tasty Tuesdays

iStock_000012968778Small129-214x300

Simply Sweet Home Friday Favorite

HungryLittleGirl
All My Bloggy Friends

21 thoughts on “NY Times Chocolate Chip Cookie with Ice Cream and Chocolate Syrup

  1. Well sometimes the best new recipes come from changes to an old one. Intended or unintended. I don’t think you can go much wrong with sugar and butter and chocolate though! Thanks for sharing your story at What’d You Do This Weekend. Hope your puppy is feeling better. Best wishes for tasty dishes this week!

  2. I have never heard of this recipe, but I will have to give it a try. Sometimes we all make mistakes. At least yours was just adding too much butter – I love butter and would not have thought it was a mistake!

    Thank you for linking to the In and Out of the Kitchen Link Party! I look forward to seeing what you bring next week!

    Cynthia at http://FeedingBIg.com

  3. Pingback: Here are the HOST FAVORITE Recipes from Foodie Friends Friday Salad Party...~Daily Dish with Foodie Friends Friday

  4. Pingback: Sweet Treats at Foodie Friends Friday #FoodieFriendsFriday »

  5. Pingback: {Daily Dish Recipe} Chocolate Chip Cookie with Ice Cream - Daily Dish Magazine

I'd love for you to leave a comment. I enjoy reading them all.