Chunky Monkey Almond Banana Bars

Chunky Monkey Almond Banana Bars | Bakewell Junction

Chunky Monkey Almond Banana Bars | Bakewell Junction

Don’t you hate when your bananas get too ripe to eat?  So what can you do?  Find an easy recipe to use them up.  I found this recipe online and tweaked it to use nuts that my hubby would eat.

This is the first time I’ve used browned butter and it does give the icing a different flavor.  There’s quite a bit of sugar in the icing, so it’s sweet.  Depending on the ratio of icing to cake recipe you like, you can choose the larger pan for a thinner bar or the smaller pan for a more cake-like result.  The pan I used was a non-stick jelly roll pan and I didn’t compensate for that so the resulting bars were darker and a little more cooked than I normally like but tasty none-the-less.  These bars are great for snacks and any dessert.

Enjoy!

Chunky Monkey Almond Banana Bars

Yield:  35 bars          Cook Time:  30 minutes

Batter:

  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 4 ounces cream cheese, softened (I microwaved it for 15 seconds on full power)
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 ripe bananas (about 2 cups), peeled
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup chopped, blanched almonds (the original recipe used pecans)
  • Additional whole or sliced almonds for decoration (optional)

Browned Butter Frosting:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 1/2 to 4 1/2 tablespoons water

Directions:

Step 1:  For the batter:  Mix together flour, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl and set aside.  In a mixing bowl, mix together sugar, sour cream, cream cheese and eggs.  Once the mixture is smooth, mix in the bananas and vanilla.  Add flour mixture and manually mix until completely incorporated.

Step 2:  Using a parchment lined (or greased) jelly roll pan (15 by 10 inches) or 13 by 9 pan, transfer batter to the pan and spread evenly.  Bake for 25 to 30 minutes in a preheated 375 degree oven.  It’s done when a toothpick that’s inserted in the center, comes out clean.  If using a coated or non-stick pan reduce the oven temperature and begin checking the cake at the earliest time.

Step 3:  For the frosting:  As the bars bake, melt butter in a large sauce pan on medium heat.  Stir constantly until the butter begins to have light brown specks at the bottom.  For detailed how to instructions, see Elise’s How to Brown Butter on Simply Recipes.

Step 4:  Remove the pan with the butter to a cool surface.  Stir in the vanilla, powdered sugar and the least amount of milk until completely combined.  Stir in additional milk in small increments until desired consistency is achieved.  Spread frosting on the bars with an offset spatula while still warm for easier spreading.  Note that the glaze will thicken quickly as it cools.  The frosting is sweet, so use less if using the 13 by 9 pan.

Storing:  Store in a sealed plastic container for a few days.

Enjoy!!!

The recipe is slightly adapted from Noreen McCormick Danek on Just a Pinch.

This post may also be entered in these linky parties.  Click the here to visit the other great posts in the blog hops.

37 thoughts on “Chunky Monkey Almond Banana Bars

  1. Yum! I hide bananas in my house sometimes just to get them ripe enough to bake with. I don’t think I’ve ever tried a banana baked good that I didn’t like, so these sound delicious!

  2. OK…I just started the ATKINS…no sugar at all…DIET. And then I saw THIS! LOL. Not fair. I am going to put it in my “make it someday” link file. Then, when I do, I will invite a lot of people over so I only eat one…the rest will be GONE! Sound like a plan?

    Gotta admit, I have not checked my blog hop to see if this is what you shared. If you didn’t, sometime will you stop by my Wonderful Wednesday Blog Hop and share it with us?
    Blessings,
    Sinea
    Ducks ‘n a Row

  3. I could always use new ways to use up those ripe bananas! Thanks so much for sharing at #allmybloggyfriends this week! Enjoy your weekend!

  4. Your Chunky Monkey Almond Banana Bars look delicious. I just love the Chunky Monkey, name. Hope you are having a fantastic weekend and thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday!
    Miz Helen

I'd love for you to leave a comment. I enjoy reading them all.