Pignoli Cookies

Pignoli Cookies | Bakewell Junction

Pignoli Cookies | Bakewell Junction

I tried two recipes of Pignoli cookies.  I wanted to compare an old recipe I’ve made before side-by-side with a recipe that I got from my friend Chris.  The recipes are similar so the end result is also similar.  I think my favorite of the two turns out to be the newer recipe (Pignoli Cookies 1) Chris gave me.  It produces larger cookies with more pignoli (pine) nuts.  I may add the flavorings from the Family Circle recipe (Pignoli Cookies 2) to my friend Chris’ recipe and make it my go to recipe for Pignoli cookies.

Many people make this cookie for Christmas but, since Easter is right around the corner, these would be a great to finish off a special Easter dinner.  I didn’t think my hubby liked these cookies but to my surprise, he says they’re really good with coffee.

 Pignoli Cookies 2 | Bakewell Junction

Pignoli Cookies 1 

Yield:  24 servings                 Cook Time:  25 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 8 ounces almond paste (the almond paste in the can is still 8 ounces)
  • 2 egg whites
  • 3 ounces pignoli (pine) nuts (I weighted the nuts on an old scale my Grandmother had and it was about 2/3 cup),
  • additional powdered sugar for sprinkling (optional)

Directions:

Step 1:  Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.  Sift sugars, flour and salt into a medium bowl.  Set aside.

Step 2:  Cut almond paste into small pieces.  I also run the almond paste pieces through my mini chopper, so that it looks like small grains.  This will help the paste mix better and there won’t be almond paste chunks in the cookies.  In separate medium bowl, beat egg whites and almond paste together until the mixture is smooth.  Add the sugar mixture to the almond paste and stir until combined.  Separate dough into 24 1 inch balls and place onto the prepared cookie sheet.  Press dough balls into 1 1/2 inch rounds.  Divide nuts 24 portions, remove skin on the tips of the nuts, if any, and press into the tops of the cookies.

Step 3:  Bake in a preheated 300 degree oven for 20 to 25 minutes until lightly golden on the edges.  Transfer cookies to a cooling rack to cool.  Serve at room temperature.  You can sprinkle with additional powdered sugar if using.

Recipe slightly adapted from my friend Chris.

Pignoli Cookies  2

Yield:  28 servings                 Cook Time:  15 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 7 ounces almond paste (the almond paste in the tube is 7 ounces)
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon orange extract or 1 teaspoon dried orange zest
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 1/2 cup pignoli (pine) nuts

Directions:

Step 1:  Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.  Cut almond paste into small pieces.  I also run the almond paste pieces through my mini chopper, so that it looks like small grains.  This will help the paste mix better and there won’t be almond paste chunks in the cookies.

Step 2:  In a medium bowl, beat one egg white, sugar and almond paste together until the mixture is smooth.  Beat in the remaining egg white and extracts.  Add the flour and mix by hand until just combined.  Separate batter into 28 balls and place on the prepared cookie sheet about 2 inches apart.  This will be a sticky batter.  Remove skin on the tips of the nuts, if any, and cover each cookie with about 1/2 teaspoon of pignoli nuts.

Step 3:  Bake in a preheated 325 degree oven for 15 minutes.  Transfer cookies to a cooling rack to cool.  Serve at room temperature.

Recipe slightly adapted from Family Circle Bonus (12/12/00 edition) insert booklet by Michael Krondl.

This post may also be entered in these linky parties.  Click the here to visit the other great posts in the blog hops.

JWsMadeWLuvMondays

55 thoughts on “Pignoli Cookies

  1. I absolutely love pignoli cookies but I’ve never tried making them. You make it sound fairly easy by breaking it down into 3 steps. I’m pinning to try these out this weekend – thanks for sharing!

  2. I always wonder how to cook with pine nuts. Thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe. I’ll have to try it. I’m pinning it. Come over from Hump day happenings!
    Kim from This Ole Mom

  3. These are awesome, I have cooked with pine nuts but never thought to use them in cookies! I love trying new things thank you so much for sharing your recipe with us at the MaMade Blog Hop

  4. Hi Annamaria! Oh my, pignoli are without a doubt my very favorite cookie! I can’t wait to compare this recipe to the one I have and try it! Thank you so much for sharing at Best of the Weekend and will be pinning to our party board. Have a happy weekend!

  5. Thanks for sharing these on The Wednesday Roundup. I’m pinning to our board of the same name. I would totally be making these except my kid is allergic to eggs and tree nuts 😦

  6. Hi there! I’m hopping over from Let’s Get Real today. Pignoli cookies are new to me, but I really like pine nuts. These are really a beautiful cookies to share with guests. I bet the citrus and pine nuts are a great combination.

  7. These look delicious, I love pine nuts. Thanks for linking to Sweet and Savoury Sunday! Stop by and link up again this weekend!

  8. Hi, Annamaria. I am running behind this week!
    I can see how these pignoli would be excellent with coffee…one of my favorite things is pecan pie with a cup of coffee. The nutty flavor from the pine nuts would work really well with coffee.
    Thank you for sharing!

  9. What a fun cookie to try, it looks really good. Hope you are having a great weekend and thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

  10. When I saw the name of the recipe I had no idea what it was. Then I read Pine Nuts and thought “oh”! Thanks for sharing this with us at the Four Seasons Blog Hop. I am pinning this. Got to give this a try!!

  11. I’ve never tried pine nut, but I love nuts, so I am sure I would love these cookies. Thanks for linking up with the Tasty Tuesday’s Link-up. I have pinned your post to the Tasty’s Tuesday’s Pinterest Board!

  12. Pingback: Weekend Wind Down Link Party — Week #13

I'd love for you to leave a comment. I enjoy reading them all.