Cadbury Mini Egg Blondies

Cadbury Mini Egg Blondies | Bakewell Junction - Gooey and chocolatey deliciousness.

Cadbury Mini Egg Blondies | Bakewell Junction

Has everyone been as busy as I have?  I have deadlines looming at work and yard work piling up.  Spring and early summer there’s so much to do.  I’d love to hear any shortcuts and tips you have with yard work.  And, has anyone had the explosion of poison ivy that we’ve had in the northeast this year?!?

I was looking for another quick and easy recipe to share with you.  I found this one that would use up some of my left over Easter candy too.  This recipe came together so quickly and was a cinch to make.  The bars are gooey with tons of chocolate and delicious.

Enjoy!

Cadbury Mini Egg Blondies | Bakewell Junction - Gooey and chocolatey deliciousness.

Cadbury Mini Egg Blondies

Yield:  16 bars                 Cook Time:  40 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 cups milk chocolate mini eggs

Directions:

Step 1:  In a medium bowl combine flour, baking soda and salt; set aside.  I melted the butter in the microwave but you can melt it over medium heat on the stove.  In the bowl of the stand mixer or a large bowl with a hand mixer, cream together the melted butter and brown sugar on high speed for 1 to 2 minutes.  The mixture should look lighter and fluffy.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl, as needed.

Step 2:  Mix in vanilla and egg and egg yolk until mixture is creamy.  Mix in the flour in 3 additions until each is combined using a low setting on your mixer.  Prepare an 8 inch by 8 inch baking pan by lining with aluminum foil and greasing with cooking spray.  Transfer the dough to the baking and use the back of a silicone spatula to spread batter evenly across the pan.

Step 3:  Bake in a 325 degree preheated oven for 40 minutes.  The top should be golden brown and a toothpick test should come out clean.  When done, remove the pan from the oven and cool on a rack for 30 minutes.  Place the pan in the refrigerator or freezer to cool completely (a few hours or overnight).  Slice into 2 by 2 inch squares.

Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Bakeaholic Momma.

Tips:  Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator.  Liz from That Skinny Chick Can Bake always has perfectly cut cookie bars, so I always use her Tip of the Day to cut the bars.

This post may also be entered in these linky parties.  Click the here to visit the other great posts in the blog hops.

19 thoughts on “Cadbury Mini Egg Blondies

  1. Hi Annamarie! Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe with us over at The Mommy Monday Blog Hop…I must admit I have never tried blondies but this would definitely be a great first taste 😀

  2. You have leftover Easter candy?! That would never happen with my four candy loving kids…lol. I would have to buy this candy and hide it to make these bars. Thanks for sharing them on Merry Monday.

  3. Yum, they look great. Thanks for linking up to Sweet and Savoury Sunday, stop by and link up again. Have a great day!!

  4. Cadbury mini eggs are one of my favorite Easter candies. I never have any leftover, but I’d buy extra just to make these brownies. My son has chosen them to feature when tonight’s potluck goes live. Thank you for stopping in and linking this week.

  5. I’ve heard a lot of kids have gotten poison ivy this year but I didn’t realize it was more than normal. I’ll have to check to see if there’s been an influx in our area since I don’t want the kiddos to get it. Those bars look pretty delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe 🙂

  6. Pingback: Weekend Wind-Down Link Party #21 - Snippets of Inspiration

  7. Pingback: Weekend Wind-Down Party #21 | Whirlwind Week - Fashion and Fun after Fifty

  8. Pingback: Weekend Wind Down Link Party — Week #23

I'd love for you to leave a comment. I enjoy reading them all.