Tiramisu

Sorry I haven’t posted in a while, I’ve been fighting a nasty sinus infection but I’m starting to feel almost normal.

So, moving on to the deliciousness…

Tiramisu | Bakewell Junction - decadent and easier than easier than you would think.

Tiramisu | Bakewell Junction

I’ve been looking for a great Tiramisu recipe and this one is it.  I made this for some friends early in December and they loved it.  The hubby and I loved it too.  This recipe would work for any special or not so special occasion.

Tiramisu | Bakewell Junction - decadent and easier than easier than you would think.Who wouldn’t want this added to their dessert table.  Trust me, you will be the hit of the party if you bring this with you.

I had made another recipe a few years ago but I thought it had too much liquor in it and the texture of the cream wasn’t light enough.  This recipe uses whipped cream instead of whipped egg whites so I was a little concerned because I reeeally, reeeally don’t like whipped cream but it worked fine.

I even froze the leftovers and they tasted just fine after defrosting.  There was no degradation in flavor or texture at all.  The only thing I found is that you need to play with how long to dip the Savoiardi biscuits.  I think it just depends on the density of the brand you’re using.  At most I would dip them a few seconds on the bottom side and then place them upside down so the liquid soaks into the remainder of the biscuit.

Tiramisu | Bakewell Junction - decadent and easier than easier than you would think.Enjoy!

Tiramisu

Yield:  9 servings                 Cook Time:  10 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 6 egg yolks
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 16 ounces mascarpone cheese
  • 1 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 2 12 ounce packages Savoiardi (I used less than this)
  • 1/2 cup room temperature espresso or strong coffee
  • 1/4 cup coffee flavored liquor
  • 1 – 2 tablespoons cocoa for dusting (I substituted Ghirardelli ground chocolate)

Step 1:  Start heating water in a double boiler to boiling.  You can use a medium sauce pan to hold the water and top with metal bowl to hold the ingredients to be heated.  Add the egg yolks and sugar and mix well.  Turn heat to low and stir for 10 minutes.

Step 2:  Remove egg yolks from heat and beat for a few minutes.  The mixture will thicken and become a lighter yellow.

Step 3:  Beat mascarpone into egg yolk mixture to combine.  Set aside.

Step 4:  In a medium bowl, beat cream until it becomes thick and holds stiff peaks.  By this time the egg yolk mixture should have cooled a bit.  Fold whipped cream into the egg mixture.  Set aside.

Step 5:  In a small bowl, combine the espresso and liquor.  Use a couple of the Savoiardi to determine how they will soak up the liquid.  Dip one quickly for a count of three and then turn it upside down in a small dish.  Wait a few minutes and cut the lady finger to see how much of the espresso mixture has soaked into the lady finger.  If it’s to your liking, then use this length of time to dip the Savoiardi.  If not then, dip one for another test for a little longer or shorter to find out the length of dipping time that works for you.  Once you’ve found your favorite dipping time, then dip the lady fingers for the appropriate length of time, and invert them and place them in the bottom of an 8 inch square pan to cover the bottom of the pan.

Step 6:  Cover the layer of Savoiardi with half the mascarpone mixture.  Spread evenly.

Step 7:  Create another layer of dipped Savoiardi.  Cover the second layer of Savoiardi with the remaining mascarpone mixture.  I had several Savoiardi left over but I didn’t mind because I would rather have more of the cream in the dessert anyway.

Step 8:  Place mixture in the fridge for at least four hours.  Use cocoa or ground chocolate to dust the top before serving.

Tips:  Tiramisu freezes wonderfully if you’re lucky enough to have any remaining.  Defrost for half an hour before serving.

Enjoy!!!

Recipe adapted from Chef Dennis, The Best Tiramisu You Will Ever Make.

This post may also be entered in these linky parties.  Click the here to visit the other great posts in the blog hops.  Entered here also:  savvysouthernstyle.net

46 thoughts on “Tiramisu

  1. Ooh sinuses are no fun – Hope you are much better now. I’ve never made a tirimasu – I’ve always had others make them for me so should rectify that straightaway! Discovered you through Wednesday Whatsits. Please feel free to join in with #Bakeoftheweek

  2. Tiramisu is my absolute FAV dessert EVER! My Grandma use to make it for me all of the time when I was younger and I have and use her recipe that has been handed down for many generations in our family. The only thing that really stinks about the recipe is that some of the ingredients are almost impossible to find here In the Phoenix Metro area! Back in New Jersey it was never an issue! 😦 I am going to try combining my family recipe and this one and see how it turns out.

    Thank you for linking up to the Oh My Heartsie Girls Wordless Wednesday Linky Party!

    Wishing you a fabulous week!

    xx
    Lysa
    Co-Host OMHGWW

  3. Thanks for linking up to the Pins of the Week Party! I’m pinning this! We’d love to have you link up again and with a pin to make it easier for pinning and sharing!

  4. Tiramisu is one of those desserts that I have never tried to make myself, but have always wondered about doing. You have laid out a wonderful tutorial with your recipe, and the Tiramisu looks delicious! Thanks for sharing at the #HomeMattersParty 🙂 Hope to see you again next week.

    ~Lorelai
    Life With Lorelai

  5. Thanks for sharing this great recipe! We love tiramisu but have never tried to make it. We just might give it a try now! Stopping by from the Thursday Favorite Things Blog Hop at Katherine’s Corner. Hope to catch up with you again next week! Nina @ Vintage Mama’s Cottage

  6. Your Tiramisu sounds delicious, Annamaria. I like that the egg yolk mixture is lightly cookie – so often Tiramisu calls for raw egg yolks. I’ve never made Tiramisu from scratch but I think I’d like this recipe! Thank you for sharing it with us at the Hearth and Soul hop. Pinned and will tweet 🙂

  7. Glad to hear you are feeling better. Being sick is never fun. This dessert looks delicious. Thank you for linking up to the Let’s Get Real Link Party!
    I hope you have a fabulous week! Nicky from Little Family Adventure

  8. Pingback: Wake Up Wednesday! |

  9. Pingback: Wake Up Wednesday #55 | Epic Mommy Adventures

  10. Pingback: Wake Up Wednesday “Linky” PartyRelaxed Thairapy | Relaxed Thairapy

  11. Pingback: Wake Up Wednesday “Linky” Party #55

  12. Pingback: Wake Up Wednesday #55 | Blogghetti

  13. Pingback: Dulce De Leche Kisses - Bake of the Week - Casa Costello

  14. This sounds like some yummy tiramisu, one of our favorite desserts! Thanks for stopping by and sharing this recipe with us – you’re featured this week on Five Friday Finds! I’m looking forward to what you share this week. 🙂

  15. I love tiramisu, yours looks fantastic! Thanks for sharing at What’d You Do This Weekend? I hope you will join us again this Monday morning 🙂

  16. I have never had tiramisu but this looks totally doable! I hope it tastes as great as it looks… off to the kitchen! Thanks for sharing on the (mis)Adventures Mondays Blog Hop. I can’t wait to see what you share next next time!

  17. This looks delicious, I like tiramisu a lot. Thanks for linking up to Sweet and Savoury Sunday, stop by and link up again. Have a great day!!

  18. I’ve always wanted to make tiramisu but it’s one of those things that I find intimidating. Sorry about the sinus infection. I’ve been fighting with a nasty cold the past couple of days.

  19. Pingback: Stuffed Meaty Mushrooms - #FoodieFriday - Casa Costello

I'd love for you to leave a comment. I enjoy reading them all.