Pasta e Fagioli and Easter Menu Plan

One of the recipes that was a constant at our dinner table when I was growing up is Pasta e Fagioli or pasta and beans.  You may have heard this dish called pasta fazool but my family calls it pasta e fasuor (pronounced pasta e fazuor).

Pasta e Fagioli | Bakewell Junction - hearty and delicious.

Pasta e Fagioli | Bakewell Junction

You may be accustomed to seeing Pasta e Fagioli recipes as a soup but our family recipe is not a soup.  It’s a hearty and satisfying meal for any time of year.  We also don’t use the cannellini beans but rather great northern beans.  You can substitute with cannellini beans, if you prefer.

So, where do you store your dried beans after opening the package?  I store them in a re-purposed glass jelly jar.

Pasta e Fagioli | Bakewell Junction - hearty and delicious.Most of our family doesn’t eat it regularly like we used to, so I made it for Palm Sunday dinner when my family and my hubby’s family came to over celebrate.

Pasta e Fagioli | Bakewell Junction - hearty and delicious.Want a bite?

Here are some of the other dishes I made for Palm Sunday that would be perfect for your Easter Sunday dinner.  For some reason I always forget to serve at least one thing and this time it was the brownies.

Appetizers:
Homemade Mozzarella
Homemade Pizza
Prosciutto Bread (a.k.a. Lard Bread)
Pizza Rustica (a.k.a. Pizza Chiena)
Roasted PeppersPrimi Piatti:
Manicotti
Pasta e Fagioli
Secondo Piatti:
Roasted Goose
Chicken Cutlet Parmigiana
Gravy Meat (stew meat, braciole, meatballs and sweet Italian sausages)
Contorni (Side Dishes):
Oven Roasted Broccoli
Dolci:
Easter Bread
Chocolate Babka
Brownies (Ghirardelli box mix)

Enjoy!

Pasta e Fagioli

Yield:  4 servings                 Cook Time:  90 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb dried great northern beans (about 1 mug or 1 1/2 cups); alternative, 2 15 ounce cans great northern beans, rinsed
  • 3 to 4 cups water
  • 3 to 5 cloves of garlic
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 pound dry pasta, a small pasta like Ditalini, Mezzo Ditali or Tubettini, prepared
  • 1 1/2 to 2 cups meatless gravy (a.k.a. marinara) or meat gravy
  • grated cheese for sprinkling

Step 1:  Soak all beans in 3 – 4 cups water and 1 teaspoon baking soda overnight in a sauce pot; then drain and rinse well (rinse at least 3 times).

Step 2:  Replace 3 – 4 cups water and add 2 teaspoons salt.  Bring beans to a boil and then lower heat to simmer.  Stir occasionally to prevent sticking.  Add peeled garlic cloves after piercing with toothpicks (so they float and are easier to pick out).  Cook until beans are tender.  Remove garlic cloves before they start to fall apart.  Set aside.

Step 3:  Prepare pasta as per package directions and drain.  Add pasta and gravy to beans and return to heat on low.  Stir frequently and heat a few minutes until heated through.  Serve

Tips:  Keeps refrigerated for a few days.

Enjoy!!!

Family recipe.

This post may also be entered in these linky parties.  Click the here to visit the other great posts in the blog hops.  Entered here also:  savvysouthernstyle.net
Amaze Me Monday
Mouthwatering Monday
Show and Share

24 thoughts on “Pasta e Fagioli and Easter Menu Plan

  1. I was at Palm Sunday dinner at my sister-in laws, all the food was delicious, she and my brother always put out a great spread on holidays, try these recipes you won’t be sorry.

    Thanks again,
    luv ya both

  2. My family makes this too. We do it just a tad different. My grandmother and mother were from Italy and they always added tomatoes to their recipe. Either way a great dish. I make it all the time.

  3. We will just love this classic dish that is so delicious. Thanks so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and have a great week.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

  4. Looks delicious! I love serving traditional foods for holidays. It always evokes fond memories. Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

  5. I used to work at a fine dining restaurant, one of my favorite pastas was made with white beans, olive oil, fresh dill, diced tomatoes, Parmesan, garlic and albacore tuna. Similar to your recipe, I love the white beans in pasta. Yum!

  6. No, I have never heard of this dish before:( But is looks simple and my family loves pasta. Thanks for linking up with us at Home Matters linky party. We hope you will join us again at this Friday. Feel free to bring a friend!!

  7. Pasta fazool is for sure one of our staples! Thanks for linking up and sharing with us at Funtastic Friday. We’re featuring your dish this week. Please stop by and join us again.

  8. What a great idea to store your extra beans in a glass jar. I always just twist the bag a bit and put it back. And then end up with so many partially used bags! Thanks for stopping by and sharing this on Five Friday Finds! I’m looking forward to what you share this week. 🙂

  9. Pasta e Fagioli is such a delicious classic and I love how your family prepares it! Such a traditional comfort food that I wish I could eat continually, but the pasta goes straight to my hips faster these days! I hope that you had a beautiful Easter and Palm Sunday, Annamaria! xo Roz

I'd love for you to leave a comment. I enjoy reading them all.