Gooey Butter Cake

I’m late to the Gooey Butter Cake party but I’m a fan now.  I was curious to see what the hoopla was all about and this cake definitely warrants hoopla.  I used Paula Deen’s recipe which calls for boxed cake mix.  It’s a great way to use up cake mixes before they expire.  After making so many wonderful homemade baked goods, I can’t go back to plain cake mix cakes.

Gooey Butter Cake | Bakewell Junction - gooey, sweet and decadent to satisfy any sweet tooth.

Gooey Butter Cake | Bakewell Junction

I’d read that Gooey Butter Cake is very, very sweet so I used less sugar than the original recipe and it was still really sweet.  I have a sweet tooth the size of Mount Everest but I have to say that this is one sweet cake.  The Gooey Butter Cake originated in St. Louis, Missouri and the bakery version uses a yeast cake instead of a cake mix.  I’ve never had that version, so I can’t compare.

Gooey Butter Cake | Bakewell Junction - gooey, sweet and decadent to satisfy any sweet tooth.I cut the cake into small pieces, about the size of fudge pieces.  There’s no way anyone could eat full size cake pieces of this cake.

Gooey Butter Cake | Bakewell Junction - gooey, sweet and decadent to satisfy any sweet tooth.Enjoy!

Gooey Butter Cake

Yield:  60 – 72 cake pieces                Cook Time:  40 – 50 minutes

Ingredients:

Batter:

  • 1 package yellow cake mix (18 1/4 ounce box)
  • 1 egg
  • 8 tablespoons butter, melted

Filling:

  • 1 8 ounce package cream cheese, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 8 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3 to 3 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Directions:

Step 1:  For the batter:  Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a 9 by 13 inch baking pan with parchment paper or lightly grease it.  The parchment will make it easier to take the cake out of the pan after baking.

Step 2:  With an electric mixer, beat the cooled melted butter and egg together briefly in a large bowl.  Add the cake mix and beat until combined.  Spread the batter evenly into the prepared pan.

Step 3:  For the batter:  Beat the cream cheese in a large bowl until creamy.  Beat in the remaining ingredients except the powdered sugar until combined.  Beat in the powdered sugar in two or three portions.  This will help prevent getting powdered sugar all over the kitchen.  Transfer the filling to the baking pan and spread evenly.

Step 4:  Bake for 40 to 50 minutes.  I baked for 50 minutes.  The center should still jiggle when you take it out of the oven.  Let cool at least 20 minutes before lifting the cake out of the pan.  Let cake cool completely before cutting.  I cut my cake into 6 by 12 pieces.  Serve chilled or room temperature.

Tips:  Store in a sealed container in the refrigerator.

Enjoy!!!

Adapted from Paula Deen’s Original Gooey Butter Cake.

This post may also be entered in these linky parties.  Click the here to visit the other great posts in the blog hops.  Entered here also:  savvysouthernstyle.net
Amaze Me Monday
Mouthwatering Monday
Show and Share

//

47 thoughts on “Gooey Butter Cake

  1. I’ve made this cake for years and it is always a hit. I’m often requested to bring this to family events. We have also served this with cherry or blueberry pie filling on the top and it taste like a cheese cake. Yummy !!!

  2. I’ve read and heard about this cake for a few years now, but have never made one. So I guess I’m really way behind when it comes to the gooey butter cake trend! Sounds amazing and I appreciate all of the tips that you gave for making and serving it Annamaria! SWEET!

  3. This looks wonderful, and I’ve never tried a recipe either. Now that it’s pinned, I’ll have to try it 🙂 Thanks for sharing your recipe at Together on Tuesdays!!!

  4. Butter cake is one of my absolute favs!!! I have never seen a recipe for it using cake mix before, Sounds much easier:). Thanks so much for sharing your recipe at Dream. Create. Inspire. Link. I hope you will join us again this Tuesday night. Take care, Tara

  5. I’ve been making this since before I was married–and now use a butter cake mix instead of a yellow cake mix. I just saw a fellow blogger post a homemade version, and I’m going to have to try it (last one was OK—it should be MUCH better if I go to all the extra work!). This is one of my daughter’s favorite desserts—I think I need to whip up a batch for her soon.

  6. Mmmm… this not only looks delicious, but it sounds incredible! How I would love a piece right now 🙂 Thank you for sharing this tasty recipe with Roses of Inspiration. I hope you’re able to join us again this week.

  7. Your Gooey Butter Cake looks fabulous! Hope you are having a fantastic day and we are so excited that you shared your post with Full Plate Thursday.
    Thanks so much and Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

  8. Oh my! This looks so fabulous! Pinned and tweeted. Please join us tonight at 7 pm, and party with us. I can’t wait to see your new masterpieces or amazing classics! Lou Lou Girls

  9. i fell in love with this recipe years ago!! it is so wonderful, melt in your mouth creamy……i think it produces a cavity just smelling it!!! 😉

  10. Looks so yummy! Thanks for sharing with Small Victories Sunday linkup. Pinned to our linkup board and hope you join us again this weekend.

  11. Ummmm….YUM! This looks delicious!

    Thanks for linking up for the Friday Finds and Favorites blog hop. I hope you will join us this week! ❤

  12. Forgot to mention, I’m sure it’s not intentional, but I’m not seeing Share Your Cup listed in your link parties.
    hugs,
    Jann

  13. I keep seeing all these gooey butter recipes on Pinterest, so obviously I am missing out on something delicious!! Thank you for bringing your fabulous post to Snickerdoodle Sunday- hope to see you this weekend!

    Sadie Seasongoods

  14. Pingback: Google+ #GrowingCirclesHop Link Party

  15. This definitely looks like one sweet cake! Great way to use up some mixes too. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and sharing this on Five Friday Finds! I’m looking forward to what you share this week. 🙂

  16. I have to agree with you this is one delicious cake! This is my son’s favorite cake. I have been making it for years but then I am from the St. Louis area. Now you are making me want a piece – it has been a while since I made it. Thank you for sharing at Share It One More Time and reminding of me of this awesome sweet treat. Cathy

  17. I just came back from a trip to 3 countries in Europe. When I was in Germany, I kept seeing “Butter Cake” advertised in all the bakeries and cafes. I never did have any or actually see the cake itself since I was so focused on trying apple strudel. Now I wished I’d had a piece so I could compare it with this recipe. I have a sweet tooth as well but I’ll heed your advice about the sugar. Thank you for sharing!

  18. Pingback: The Leisure Link Final Round-Up | Perspectives On....

I'd love for you to leave a comment. I enjoy reading them all.