Glazed Italian Lemon Cookies

I’d love it if you would Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Do you bake for the holidays?  Here’s a simple and tasty Glazed Italian Lemon Cookie recipe.  You can halve the recipe if you need a smaller amount of cookies but if you’re sharing, definitely make the whole recipe.

Italian Glazed Lemon Cookies | Bakewell Junction

Italian Glazed Lemon Cookies | Bakewell Junction

My hubby, brother-in-law and friends loved these cookies.  The hubby liked them unglazed too.  Because the glaze uses milk instead of water, it dries to a matte finish instead of shiny but using milk gives it a better flavor.

Italian Glazed Lemon Cookies | Bakewell Junction

Why don’t you join us for another week of 12 Weeks of Christmas Treats.

Brenda from Meal Planning Magic hosts 12 Weeks of Christmas Treats and I hope you’ll join us this year.  I’ve participated for the last two and had a great time each year.

Enjoy!

Glazed Italian Lemon Cookies

Yield:  9 dozen cookies                 Cook Time:  10 minutes

Ingredients:

Dough:

  • 5 cups flour
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1 1/4 cups Crisco shortening (I used the shortening sticks)
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 3 teaspoons lemon extract
  • 1 pint sour cream

Frosting:

  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 teaspoons lemon extract
  • 2 + tablespoons milk as needed
  • food coloring if desired
  • sprinkles if desired

Step 1:  For the dough:  In a large bowl, mix flour, baking powder and baking soda together and set aside.  In a stand mixer beat together the salt, shortening, eggs, sugar and lemon extract.

Step 2:  Beat in the flour mixture and sour cream in alternating increments.  Mix until just combined.  The dough will be sticky.  Drop heaping tablespoonfuls on parchment lined baking sheets two inches apart.  Bake in a preheated 375 degree oven for 10 minutes.  Let cool for 5 minutes in the pan before transferring to cooling racks to cool completely.  Repeat for the remaining dough.

Step 3:  For the glaze:  Add the powdered sugar to a large bowl and then add the lemon extract.  Add milk gradually until powdered sugar mixture is slightly thicker than water.  I dipped the tops of the cookies in to the glaze and placed them on a plate to dry.  If you want a thicker glaze, dip them again.

Storing:  Store in a sealed plastic container for a few weeks.

Enjoy!!!

Recipe adapted from my co-worker’s wife’s home recipe.

This post may also be entered in these linky parties.  Click the here to visit the other great posts in the blog hops.

12 Weeks of Christmas Treats Blog Hop | Hosted by MealPlanningMagic.com

You can find out all about the 12 Weeks of Christmas Treats by clicking here for more information and details about joining in.
If you’re a blogger, be sure to check the guidelines, join the challenge and then link up your own post each week.

And everyone, don’t forget to check out all the recipes at Meal Planning Magic for even more inspiration!

39 thoughts on “Glazed Italian Lemon Cookies

  1. These sound great. I wonder if coconut oil or butter would work in place of shortening as I don’t use shortening? I know coconut oil can be used in many recipes in place of shortening, maybe I need to try it out. 🙂

    I found you on the Pin It Thursday post. 🙂

  2. These look delicious! I was just thinking that I needed to come up with a good Christmas Cookie list early this year, and that I wanted to try out a few new recipes! I think maybe we’ll have to switch it up and go with these cookies instead of lemon bars 🙂

  3. These cookies remind me of when I was little! My mom used to make them all the time and my Nana makes them every year for the holidays. Pinned and shared on FB, Twitter and G+

  4. I will just love these Italian Lemon Cookies! Hope you are having a great day and thanks so much for sharing this awesome post with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

  5. I could go for one of these cookies right now! They sound wonderful. Thanks for sharing with Hump Day Happenings!

  6. Who doesn’t love Italian cookies? Just the right balance of sweetness to the cookies! I love these and am saving, printing and pinning your recipe!
    I wish you a most wonderful Thanksgiving,
    Roz

  7. Oooo, I LOVE lemon cookies. These sound scrumptious. I will have to try these very soon.

    I was wondering if you perhaps linked this up to the wrong linky. I have several different weekly link ups and you had linked this up with Throwback Thursday Blog-Style. I also have Kids and a Mom in the Kitchen recipe link up. I would love for you to share this on my recipe linky. And perhaps this week you could share one of the recipes from the past with Throwback Thursday. I started this linky so bloggers could share their posts from the past in hopes of getting traffic to older blog posts. And your recipes are always so great looking I would love to see some from the past.

    I do hope to see you this week and would love for you to share this recipe on Kids and a Mom in the Kitchen.

  8. These cookies look great for a cookie exchange! I bet the lemon flavor’s yummy too.:) Thanks for stopping by and sharing this on Five Friday Finds! I’m looking forward to what you share this week. 🙂

  9. Holy cow! I couldn’t imagine 9 dozen cookies! I absolutely love lemon so these are definitely going on my to do list. Thanks so much for sharing at Talented Tuesday!

    ~Meaghan

  10. I love lemon cookies, these look very soft and tender. Thanks for linking up to Sweet and Savoury Sunday, stop by and link up again. Have a great day!! Laura@Baking in Pyjamas

I'd love for you to leave a comment. I enjoy reading them all.