Ultimate Crumb Peach Pie

We have two peach trees in the back yard and aside from my hubby giving some away and eating ten a day, I needed to make something with them that would use a lot of them so I made this yummy Ultimate Crumb Peach Pie.  The hubby and friends loved the pie.  I love the crumbs on anything.

Ultimate Crumb Peach Pie | Bakewell Junction

Ultimate Crumb Peach Pie | Bakewell Junction

The wood chucks ate all the peaches from the smaller tree.  At least a couple hundred of them.  We got a lot of them off of the larger peach tree, probably because it was closer to the house and we could watch it better.  All in all, we had plenty of peaches.  They weren’t as large as store-bought but they were juicy and sweet.

Ultimate Crumb Peach Pie | Bakewell Junction

We got at least three or four of those huge plastic containers full of peaches plus all the ones that were eaten off the tree.  That was a lot of peaches.

The crumb recipe is from my Ultimate Crumb Coffee Cake (I included a smaller crumb recipe option in case you think there are too many crumbs) and the filling recipe is from Liz’s Classic Peach Pie on That Skinny Chick Can bake.  Liz’s pie looks picture perfect but my crust making abilities are limited, so I used crumbs for the top and bottom crust.  Thanks Liz for such a lovely recipe.  I wish I could make all of Liz’s decadent recipes.

Ultimate Crumb Peach Pie | Bakewell Junction

Enjoy!

Ultimate Crumb Peach Pie

Yield:  12 servings                Cook Time:  125 minutes

Ingredients:

Crumbs:

  • 1 pound (4 sticks) butter, melted (for 3/4 of a recipe, 3/4 lb (3 sticks) butter, melted)
  • 5 cups flour (for 3/4 of a recipe, 3 3/4 cups flour)
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar (for 3/4 of a recipe, 1 cup + 2 tablespoons sugar)
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon (for reduced recipe, 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon)
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract (for reduced recipe, 2 teaspoons vanilla extract)
  • extra butter for coating the pie plate

Filling:

  • 2 1/2 pounds peaches, peeled and sliced; about 7 1/2 medium-sized peaches (I started with more than 2 1/2 pounds of peaches because our peaches were small and weighed them after slicing)
  • 3/4 to 1 cup light brown sugar (depending on sweetness of your peaches)
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon (I substituted 1 tablespoon organic lemon juice)
  • 2 tablespoons quick-cooking tapioca (you can substitute corn starch (filling won’t be as thick and glossy) or arrowroot (same results) in the same quantity)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • A few grates of fresh nutmeg or ⅛ teaspoon ground nutmeg (I substituted 1 pinch of allspice because the hubby won’t eat anything with nutmeg)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 4 tablespoons butter (I forgot the butter but there’s so much in the crumbs that it wasn’t missed)

Garnish:

  • powdered sugar for sprinkling, one or more tablespoons to taste
  • whipped cream (optional)
  • vanilla ice cream (optional)

Directions:

Step 1:  For the crumbs:  In a large bowl, mix together the first five ingredients for the crumbs with a fork to start.  Finish mixing with fingers.  There should be large crumbs.

Step 2:  Liberally coat the pie pan with butter.  Press about 1/2 of the crumbs onto the bottom and up the sides of the pie plate.  Set the remaining crumbs aside.  Bake crumbs in a preheated 350 degree oven for 40 minutes or until the crumbs begin to brown.  Remove the pie plate from the oven and let cool.

Step 3:  For the filling:  While the bottom crumbs bake, in a large bowl, mix filling ingredients except the butter.  Mix until well coated.  Transfer the mixture into the cooled pie crust.  Cover the edges of the crumbs with aluminum foil so they don’t get too dark.  Bake the pie without the top crumbs in a preheated 350 degree oven for 40 minutes with a cookie sheet or aluminum foil underneath to catch any possible drippings.

Step 4:  Remove the pie from the oven and sprinkle with the remaining crumbs evenly across the top.  The crumbs will sink into the filling a little, that’s to be expected.  Return the pie to the oven and bake for another 45 minutes.  Remove from oven and cool completely on a rack.  Sprinkle with powdered sugar.  Serve with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream if desired.  Hide any leftovers so you have some when you’re craving it.

Tips:  Store covered with plastic wrap in the refrigerator.

Enjoy!!!

Crumb recipe adapted from Crumb recipe adapted from my co-worker’s home recipe.
Peach filling recipe adapted from That Skinny Chick Can Bake, Classic Peach Pie.

This post may also be entered in these linky parties.  Click the here to visit the other great posts in the blog hops.  Entered here also:  savvysouthernstyle.net
Amaze Me Monday
Mouthwatering Monday
Show and Share

//

42 thoughts on “Ultimate Crumb Peach Pie

  1. I would love to have peach trees in my backyard! I have the hardest time picking good peaches to bake with. They are always too hard or tasteless. No one can help me with a variety to use either. I don’t bake with peaches because of it. I would love to try your pie though. I just love crumb topping on any pie!

  2. This looks so yummy. When we moved the last time I left my peach and apricot trees. I do miss those trees as this would a perfect use for those fruits. Blessings.

  3. I am SO glad I inspired you! And you have inspired me—I must make a peach crumb pie next summer. I just made an apple crumb pie last week to send with Bill when he went to visit his mom. I am getting a little better with crust, but I still love the ease of no top crust, too!!! Thanks for your kind words, my friend!!! xo

  4. Oh yummy! I used to hate fruit pies growing up as a child but they’ve grown on me as an adult. On top of that, the fact that you made this with FRESH peaches…wow. Sorry the wood chucks got some 😦 I didn’t know they went after fruit like that…rude! Thanks for linking up with Welcome Home Wednesday, come back next week please!!

  5. I have a bunch of fresh peaches from peach picking at a local orchard with my kids, I think I may have to make this, it sounds wonderful! Thanks for sharing at What’d You Do This Weekend?!

  6. Oh my…. this looks divine, sweet friend! I wish I could have a bite right now 🙂 Thank you for sharing this wonderful post with Roses of Inspiration. Have a lovely week! Hugs!

  7. Sounds delightful! I love peaches! You are very lucky to have your own peach trees. Would love to have some of my own someday. Anywho, this is my first visit, and I am going to save this recipe, and hopefully try it out myself. I am stopping by from Worthwhile Wednesday link up party, and I really enjoyed your post! Thanks & have a wonderful week!

    Sarah 🙂

  8. I love to make crumbles (or cobblers) more than pies because they are hard to mess up but I might have to try this one because it looks like it is the best of both worlds! Thank you linking up with us at the Tips and Tricks Link Party! I hope to see you back this week!

  9. Sounds like you’ve got lots of peaches! I bet the home grown peaches taste so juicy and flavorful. And we all know you can never have too much crumb topping. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and sharing this recipe with us – you’re featured this week on Five Friday Finds! I’m looking forward to checking out your recipe this week. 🙂

  10. Oh you’re so fortunate to have your very own peach trees! I’d just go nuts trying to use all of the bounty in recipes, both old and new. I’m sure that this pie was/is a true winner! Liz is a great cook! I’m saving this for next summer when the SC peaches are ripe again!

  11. This looks yummy! Thanks for entering the pin for this in The Pinterest Game. Good luck, and we hope to see you again next week!
    ~~Wendy, co-host #ThePinterestGame

I'd love for you to leave a comment. I enjoy reading them all.

